Finalists of Asia Regional Finals and Local Jury Announced

Discover the names of the competitors and jury in the Asia Regional Final of the latest S.Pellegrino Young Chef.

UPDATE SEPTEMBER 10:  Find out the winners from the Asia Region of the 4th edition of S.Pellegrino Young Chef!

The Asia Regional Final of S.Pellegrino Young Chef 2019-2020 is just around the corner! As one of the 12 regional finals to be held around the world, the Asia S.Pellegrino Young Chef Regional Final will take place on September 10, 2019, at Ecole Tsuji Tokyo (Tokyo), in partnership with the Tsuji Culinary Institute Group.

Ten Regional Finalists (see below), have been selected by ALMA in the preliminary stage in accordance with the Golden Rules. These rules, based on technical skills, creativity and personal belief, will continue to govern the jury panels’ decisions over the course of the Regional Finals and the Grand Finale. 

The ten contestants will face off in Tokyo during a live local cooking competition where each of their respective Signature Dishes will be assessed by a  local jury panel. The jury’s decision will be final as they select the best young chef capable of representing the Asia region at a global level.

The Local Jury for the Asia Region

Each of the jurors have been chosen due to their ability to support the S.Pellegrino Young Chef’s mission of nurturing the future of gastronomy through its support of the next generation of chefs. 

The 5 Jurors for the Asia Region, comprised of India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam are as follows: 

The Local Jury for the Asia Region
Members of Jury, Hyun Seok Choi, Daniele Cason, Julien Royer, Garima Arora and Shoko Hirase

Hyun Seok Choi - South Korea
Owner Chef of Choi Dot in Seoul, Hyun Seok Choi is a celebrity chef who runs the restaurant rated ‘Plate’ in Michelin Guide Seoul 2019. He blends Italian and Korean influences in whimsical ways that represent his fun personality. He is well known for starring in the popular Korean TV show, ’Take Good Care of the Fridge’.

Daniele Cason - Japan
Italian born chef Daniele Cason is the Executive Chef of Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. Over his career he has lead the kitchen teams of several venues including three one-starred Michelin restaurants, Signature (French Fine Dining), Sense (Cantonese Dining) and Tapas Molecular Bar

Julien Royer - Singapore
Julien Royer is the owner chef of Odette, a two-starred Michelin restaurant in Singapore, and No.1 of Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2019. Born in France, Royer’s career began under the legendary Michel Bras in Laguiole. He has been based in Singapore since 2011, where, prior to Odette, he lead the team at JAAN at Swissotel the Stamford to reach 11th place on Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2015.

Garima Arora - Thailand
Owner Chef of GAA in Bangkok, Garima Arora became the first Indian female chef to earn a Michelin star in 2018. In the same year, she was awarded with “Asia’s Best Female Chef 2018” and “Highest New Entry” at Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants. Aurora worked with Gordon Ramsay, René Redzepi and Gaggan Anand prior to opening GAA in 2017.

Shoko Hirase - Japan
Shoko Hirase is the co-owner and Pastry Chef of Restaurant L’aube, a one-starred Michelin restaurant in Tokyo. Hirase gained experience in France, by way of Patisserie Pascal Pinaud, Restaurant Jules Verne and Restaurant TOYO before returning to Japan in 2011. In 2013, she joined chef Hideaki Imahashi at restaurant Keisuke Matsushima, after which the two eventually opened Restaurant L’aube in 2016.

Here is the list of the 15 Regional finalists plus each of their chosen mentor chefs who will guide them throughout the Regional Finals. 

In this year’s competition each Young Chef that takes part in the regional final have been assigned a Regional Mentor

Aaron Shiu, Philippines, Mentor: Sean Yuquimpo (Philippines)
Ashlee Malligan, Mentor: Ivan Brehm (Singapore)
Dominique Salles, Mentor: Hans Zahner (Thailand)
Fahmi Jamaluddin, Mentor: Steven Snowdon (Singapore)
Jinhwan Jeong, Mentor: Sung Anh (South Korea)
Karan Upmanjyu, Mentor: Manu Chandra (India)
Kazushi Komaji, Mentor: Gianluca Visani (Japan)
Kevin Wong Tat Mun, Mentor: Sun Kim (Singapore)
Li Shuang Chong, Mentor: Christian Bauer (Malaysia)
Masataka Tsuchiya, Mentor: Yuichiro Tamagaki (Japan)
Mohd Sakhawi Bin Azizi, Mentor: Masashi Horiuchi (Malaysia)
Muhammad Afif Adnanta Nasution, Mentor: Mandif Warokka (Indonesia)
Roberto Parentela, Mentor: Markus Zuck (Thailand)
Tor Aik Chua, Mentor: Tristin Farmer (Singapore)
Yi Cin Lim, Mentor: Jeremy Gillon (Singapore)

This year’s S.Pellegrino Young Chef initiative has been re-shaped to reflect the brand’s belief in the transformative power of gastronomy. That’s why from the this edition S.Pellegrino Young Chef will include three additional awards, both at the Regional Finals level and the Grand Finale, intended to give voice to different personal beliefs: Acqua Panna Award for Connection in Gastronomy, Fine Dining Lovers Food for Thought Award, S.Pellegrino Award for Social Responsibility 

The Finalist chosen from this Regional Final and of the three awards will be announced on as and when they take place. 

Find out more about S.Pellegrino Young Chef 2019-2020 and via our social media channels on Facebook and Instagram and by following #Sanpellegrino and #SPYoungChef. 

Previous Article Change Article Next Article